Web moped2.org
Georgia Moped Laws

Georgia Moped Laws

Moped Defintion

Any motor driven cycle with an engine not exceeding 50 cubic centimeters (3.05 cubic inches), or two brake horsepower, that can propel the cycle at a speed not to exceed 30 miles per hour (MPH) and does not require clutching or shifting. The cycle may be equipped with two or three wheels and with or without foot pedals to allow for human muscular propulsion.


Motorcycle Defintion

Every motor vehicle having a saddle for the use of the rider and designed to travel on not more than three wheels in contact with the ground, but excluding mopeds. All motorcycles, scooters, minibikes, and motor bikes are considered motor-driven cycle.s


Moped Registration

Mopeds are exempt from the provisions relating to the registration and licensing of motor vehicles


Moped Licensing Requirements

Must be 15 years of age and have in their possession a valid driver’s license, instructional permit or limited permit


Georgia Standard Instructional Permit Requirements

Applicants must be at least 15 years old and be able to pass the eye and knowledge test. When driving, there must be a licensed driver at least 21 years old in the front seat with him or her at all times. The permit is valid for 24 months. Parental consent is required for applicants under 18 years of age.

Additionally, you may not apply or keep a driver's permit or license if you withdraw from school (if you are under age 18), have a total of 10 unexcused absenses or have certain conduct infractions.


Class M - Motorcycle Instructional Permit Requirements

All applicants must pass an eye test and an examination of motorcycle knowledge. An issued Class M instruction permit is valid for 6 months, after which time the applicant may return to the issuing station and take a road test. It is not mandatory for a Class M license applicant to obtain a Class M Instructional Permit before taking the Class M examination. Restrictions for a Class M instructional permit are the following:

  1. Must be at least 16 years old and have parental consent if under 18.
  2. Motorcycle operation in daylight hours only.
  3. No passengers allowed.
  4. No limited access roadways.
  5. Safety equipment as prescribed by law.
Moped Traffic Laws
  • Operators of mopeds must wear protective headgear (motorcycle helmet).
  • Operators of bicycles aided by electric power may wear a properly fitted bicycle helmet instead of an approved motorcycle helmet.
  • No tag is required.
  • Every person operating a moped upon a roadway must obey the same traffic laws governing drivers of motor vehicles.
  • May not use limited access highways or other roadways where the minimum speed limit is above 35 mph.
  • Wherever a usable path or sidewalk designated for use of bicycle riders adjacent to a roadway has been provided, bicycle riders shall use such path or sidewalk and shall not use the roadway.
  • Persons riding mopeds upon a roadway shall not ride more than two abreast except on paths or parts of roadways set aside for the exclusive use of bicycles.

External Resources
  • Georgia Department of Motor Vehicle
  • Georgia Bicycle Helmet Statue
  • Georgia Laws Pertaining to Cyclists


  • Forums at Moped2.org Privacy policy
    Moped2.org Home My other sites

    Home   Contact
    Wikipedia Affiliate Button