Kansas Moped Laws
Kansas Moped Laws
Every device propelled by human power upon which any person may ride,
having two (2) tandem wheels, either of which is more than fourteen (14)
inches in diameter.
Low Powered Cycle Definition
Every vehicle and every bicycle and tricycle with not to exceed one brake horsepower provided by battery in addition to human power. Low powered cycles must abide by all normal bicycle traffic laws.
Every motorcycle, including every motor scooter, with a motor which produces not to exceed five brake horsepower, and every bicycle with motor attached except a motorized bicycle or a low power cycle.
A motor bicycle cycle, or moped, is every device having two tandem wheels or three wheels, which may be
propelled by either human power or helper motor, or by both, and which
has - A motor which produces not more than 3.5 brake horsepower; a cylinder
capacity of not more than 130 cubic centimeters; an automatic transmission;
and the capability of a maximum design speed of no more than 30 miles per
If a moped does not fit this defintion, it is classified as a motorcycle
and the operator must have a motorcycle endorsement to operate it legally.
All mopeds are required to be registered and insured to be operated
A standard driver's operator's license is required to operate a moped. An alternative is to get a moped operator's license, in whch case you must provide acceptable proof
of identity and pass a vision test and written test.
Moped and Bicycle Traffic Laws
All moped riders under the age of 18 are required to wear helmets
and a form of eye protection. Failure to do so will result in a fine of $70.
Operating a bicycle or a moped upon a roadway at less than the normal
speed of traffic at the time and place and under the conditions then
existing shall ride as near to the right side of the roadway as practicable.
Exceptions to this rule are as follow:
(1) Overtaking and passing another bicycle or vehicle proceeding in the
Operating a bicycle or a moped upon a one-way highway with two or more
marked traffic lanes may ride as near to the left side of the roadway as
Operators cannot operate beside eachother in the same traffic lane, except on paths or parts of roadways set aside for the exclusive use of bicycles.
Wherever a usable path for bicycles has been provided adjacent to a roadway, bicycle riders shall use such path and shall not use the roadway.
A person propelling a bicycle shall not ride other than upon or astride a permanent and regular seat attached to it.
No bicycle shall be used to carry more persons at one time than the number for which it is designed and equipped.
Every owner of a motor vehicle shall have motor vehicle liability insurance coverage in accordance with the Kansas Automobile Injury Reparations Act.
Headphones may be worn on mopeds, but are not permitted on any other motor vehicle.
No person shall operate any motor-driven cycle at any time when head lamps are requiredat a speed greater than 35 miles per hour unless such motor-driven cycle is equipped with a head lamp or lamps which are adequate to reveal a person or vehicle at a distance of 300 feet ahead.
(2) preparing for a left turn at an intersection or into
a private road or driveway
(3) reasonably necessary to avoid conditions
Every bicycle when in use at nighttime shall be equipped with a lamp on the front which shall emit a white light visible from a distance of at least five hundred (500) feet to the front and with a red reflector on the rear of a type approved by the secretary of transportation which shall be visible from all distances from one hundred (100) feet to six hundred (600) feet to the rear when directly in front of lawful lower beams of head lamps on a motor vehicle. A lamp emitting a red light visible from a distance of five hundred (500) feet to the rear may be used in addition to the red reflector.
Kansas Department of Revenue DMV
Lenexa Kansas Vehicle FAQs