New Jersey Moped Laws
New Jersey Moped Laws
19 Jun 2012 - these laws are still current, as of June 2012.
15 Oct 2008 - updated New Jersey Moped Manual is now available
in PDF and
(Thanks to Jerard Basmagy!)
A motorized bicycle, or moped, is defined by law as a pedal bicycle
with a helper motor that has a maximum piston displacementof less than
50 cubic centimeters, or no more than 1.5 brake horsepower,and is
capable of a maximum speed of no more than 25 miles per hour on a
flat surface. A ticket can be issued to moped operators if they are
traveling faster than 25 mph in a 30 mph speed zone.Motorized tricycles are
not legal in New Jersey and
cannot be operated on public roadways.
Although they resemble bicycles, MOPEDs are heavier and handle
differently. They usually require longer braking distances to stop,
don't turn as quickly and are harder to pedal than bicycles.
Moped License requirements
Operators must carry a valid driver license, registration certificate and insurance
identification card while driving a MOPED. Failure to do so can result in a fine up to $50.
How to Obtain a Moped License
- be at least 15 years old
- Visit an MVC Agency to complete an application for a moped permit.
- Pass the 6 Point ID Verification
- Pay $5 examination permit fee
- Pass the knowledge and vision tests to validate your permit. Study by reading the Driver Manual and Motorcycle Manual
- You must practice with a permit for at least 20 days before being eligible to take the road test
- If you pass the road test, take your permit, ride slip and score sheet to an MVC Agency to receive your license and pay the $6 license fee
Owners must Title and register their vehicles before they can be driven on public
roadways. Only MOPEDs approved by Motor Vehicle Services can be titled
and registered. The titling fee is $20. The registration fee is $8 a year.
MOPEDs must have a special MOPED license plate displayed on the rear
of the vehicle. You can title and register the MOPED at any motor
Obtain liability insurance covering bodily injury up to $15,000,
death up to $30,000, and property damage up to $5,000.
Other moped laws
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
New Jersey Moped License Information
- All operators and riders must wear a helmet. Safety helmets must meet the specifications
established by the U.S. Department of Transportation. A full face shield is not required, but is recommended to prevent injury. Failure to do so will result in a
serious injury and/or a fine of up to $100.
- Eye protection, such as goggles, is recommended, but not required to operate a moped.
- Mopeds must drive on the road as far to the right as possible, with an exception for turning left.
- Operators cannot drive mopeds more than two abreast when traffic is not impeded. If traffic is impeded, mopeds must be operated in a single file line. Drivers should then communicate with other moped drivers with hand or voice signals.
- Operators are not allowed to carry passengers.
- Mopeds cannot attach themselves to other vehicles to "hitch a ride."
- Mopeds cannot be operated on sidewalks, the interstate highway system, four-lane highways divided by a median, railroads, and highways with a speed limit over 50 mph.
- Mopeds are required to have a bell or horn that can be heard from at least 100 feet away
- A front white headlamp and red rear taillight that can be seen from 500 feet are required on all mopeds. These lights can be used all day, but must be used between sunset and sunrise, and in bad weather conditions.
- Mopeds must have enough braking power to make the vehicle skid a dry, level, and clean piece of pavement.
- The recommended clothing that moped operators should wear for safety reasons includes:
- Bright clothes for easy visibility
- An approved motorcycle helmet
- Goggles, faceshield, and glasses
- Pants made of heavy material
- Heavy jacket for protection against scrapes
- Leather gloves for grip
- Several layers of clothing