Web moped2.org
North Dakota Moped Laws

North Dakota Moped Laws

Moped Definition

A moped, or motorized bicycle, is a motorized vehicle that has two or three wheels.  The vehicle has footrests or pedals for the operator’s use.  The motor on a moped cannot propel the vehicle faster than 30 miles per hour on a flat surface. A moped must have an automatic drive system, so no shifting or clutching is required to drive the vehicle.

Scooter Definition

A scooter is a vehicle that is powered by a gas or electric engine that is like moped, but it does not meet all of the requirements of being classified as a moped.

Registration of Mopeds

New vehicles must have a Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO).  If the manufacturer did not supply an MCO upon purchase, the owner must contact the manufacturer to obtain an MCO in order to have the vehicle titled and registered.  The MCO should describe engine size and maximum speed of the vehicle.

Odometer certification is also required when applying for the title.

The owner of used vehicles must have the title or registration documents.  If the used vehicle that has never been titled or registered, the owner should contact the Motor Vehicle Division at (701) 328-2725 or email mv@nd.gov for more information.

Registration fee for mopeds $28 annually and the motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for the title.

Registration of Scooters

If your scooter meets the definition of being an off-highway vehicle then obtaining a title and registration is optional.  An off-highway vehicle is a vehicle that is not used on public roads.  The vehicle is suited for all cross-country travel.   In application to scooters, a Class 1 off-highway vehicle must have a seat or saddle designed to be straddled by the operator, and has handlebars for steering control of two wheels.

New vehicles must have a Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO).  If the manufacturer did not supply an MCO upon purchase, the owner must contact the manufacturer to obtain an MCO in order to have the vehicle titled and registered.  The MCO should describe engine size and maximum speed of the vehicle.

Unlike mopeds, a Certificate of Vehicle Inspection (SFN 2486) is required for scooters that have never been titled or do not have a manufacturer’s certificate of origin. A North Dakotan Highway Patrol will perform an inspection upon request and provide the completed form SFN 2486.

If used scooters that have never been titled or registered, their owners should contact the Motor Vehicle Division at (701) 328-2725 or email mv@nd.gov for more information. Previously titled or registered scooters must be inspected to be titled and registered.

The registration fee for scooters is $10 for two years, with renewal due in even calendar years.   The motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for the title.

Insurance for Mopeds or Scooters

Liability insurance is required

Moped and Scooter License Requirements

Operators of mopeds or scooters must have one of the following: Instruction permit, temporary permit, motorized bicycle operators permit, or an operator’s license (Class D minimum and no motorcycle endorsement is required)

Moped and Scooter Safety and Traffic Information

Anyone under the age of 18 is required to wear a helmet.

All normal traffic laws apply to the operators of mopeds and scooters. More specific city ordinances exist in some areas of the state.  The North Dakota Century Code applies, regardless of where you ride. Remember, it is the operator’s responsibility to know the law.



Forums at Moped2.org Privacy policy
Moped2.org Home My other sites

Home   Contact
Wikipedia Affiliate Button