Oregon Moped Laws
Oregon Moped Laws
a vehicle, including any bicycle equipped with a power source, other than an electric assisted bicycle or
a motor assisted scooter that complies with all of the following:
- Is designed to be operated on the ground upon wheels.
- Has a seat or saddle for use of the rider.
- Is designed to travel with not more than three wheels in contact with the ground.
- Is equipped with an independent power source that Is capable of propelling the vehicle, unassisted, at
a speed of not more than 30 miles per hour on a level road surface; and if the power source is a combustion
engine, has a piston or rotor displacement of 35.01 to 50 cubic centimeters regardless of the number of chambers
in the power source.
- Is equipped with a power drive system that functions directly or automatically only and does not require clutching
or shifting by the operator after the system is engaged.
To obtain registration to legally operate a moped or similar vehicle on the public roads of Oregon, the vehicle
must meet federal highway safety and equipment requirements, Federal EPA requirements, and insurance requirements.
Moped Title and Registration
Mopeds must be registered in Oregon. To register a moped, owners must fill out the Application for Title and
Registration. There is a fee of $30.00 for a two year period for renewals and when titling and registering used mopeds, and a
$60 fee for a four-year period if the moped is new and being registered and titled for the first time. After an initial four
year period, renewals revert to a two year period. If the moped does not already have an Oregon registration
plate, a plate fee also is required
The standard issue plate is a yellow background with blue letters and numbers. One plate is issued and is required
to be displayed on the rear of the moped. Mopeds may also have custom, disabled veteran, Ex-POW, and Ham plates.
Moped License Requirements
Any driver license or restricted license is required for anyone to operate a moped.
Violation of this law is a Class B traffic violation with a maximum fine of $360.
Operation by a rider under 16 years of age is a Class D traffic violation with a maximum fine of $90.A parent or
legal guardian of a child younger than 16 years old who authorizes or knowingly allows a child to operate a
motor-assisted scooter may be subject to a traffic citation and fine, as well.
Moped Driver's License
A moped (Restricted Class C) driver license authorizes the operation of mopeds only. To obtain one, you must
apply at a DMV office and meet the following requirements:
Motor-assisted Scooter Definition
- Be an Oregon resident or domiciled in Oregon
- Be at least 16 years of age
- Provide proof of age, identification and residence address
- Complete a Driver License/Identification Card Application
- Under 18: Pass a Safe Driving Practices Knowledge Test and obtain a parent or guardianīs signature on the Driver License/Identification Card Application, unless married or an emancipated minor
- Under 18: If applying for an Oregon driving privilege for the first time, you must show proof of school enrollment, completion or exemption
- Pass the Moped Knowledge Test. All the information necessary to pass the knowledge test is included in the Oregon Motorcycle & Moped Operating Manua
- Pass a drive test conducted by DMV
- Pass a vision screening test
- Pay appropriate testing and issuance fees
- Not have suspended or revoked driving privileges in Oregon or any other state.
- is designed to be operated on the ground with not more than three wheels
- has handlebars and a foot support or seat
- can be propelled by human or motor
- has a motor capable of propelling it no faster than 24 miles per hour on a level road
- has a motor no bigger than 35 cubic centimeters or, if electric, has a power output of no more than 1,000 watts
Mini-motorcycles, pocket bikes, or mini-choppers are not intended for use on public streets and highways.
They are manufactured for off-road use.At least two traffic violations could apply for anyone found using such
a vehicle on public roads.
Oregon Moped Driver's License
Oregon DMV - Mopeds
- Operation of an unsafe vehicle is a Class B traffic violation (ORS 815.020), with a fine up to $360.
- Operation of a vehicle that violates equipment rules is a Class C traffic violation (ORS 815.100), with a fine up to $180.