Florida moped laws - submitted by Steven W. BuehlerWhat are the driver licensing requirements for mopeds, scooters and other two or three wheel motor vehicles?
If 50 cc or less, these vehicles are not motorcycles by driver license law definition, S. 322.01(25), F.S., so a motorcycle endorsement is not required per S. 322.03(4), F.S.; however, to operate them on streets and roadways, you must be at least 16 years old and hold at least a regular operator (Class E) or “Motorcycle Only” driver license. (Reason: Even though these vehicles are 50 cc or less, they still fall under the driver license law definition of “Motor Vehicle” and a driver license is required to operate a “motor vehicle.”) SS.322.03(1), 322.01(26) and 322.05(1), F.S.
Is a license required to operate GoPeds, motorized scooters/skateboards, go-carts or other small engine vehicles?
These vehicles are not designed for operation on public roads. If they are operated on public roads, law enforcement officers can ask to see a valid driver license because these vehicles are “Motor Vehicles” under driver license law. S.322.01(26), F.S. A driver license is required to operate motor vehicles. S. 322.03, F.S.
Are you required to wear a helmet & eye protection to ride motorcycles? How about mopeds and scooters?
Most scooters can travel up to 40 MPH and exceed 2 bhp, so I would assume that the helmet requirements for motorcycles apply, but I am not a lawyer.
Is insurance required for motorcycles?
Insurance is not required to register motorcycles as with four-wheel motor vehicles (S. 627.733, F.S.). HOWEVER, if a motorcycle operator is charged in a crash with injuries, then the owner or owner/operator is financially responsible for bodily injuries and property damage to others. If no liability coverage was in effect, then bodily injury/property damage liability insurance must be purchased and kept for three years to avoid Financial Responsibility (license and tag/registration) suspension or to reinstate license, tag/registration after suspension. Chapter 324, F.S.
The law is unclear as to whether this applies to scooters under 50cc; assume that it does.
What are the requirements for obtaining a temporary motorcycle instruction permit, a motorcycle endorsement or a motorcycle only license?
Note: this applies to scooters over 50cc, such as the Vino 150 or Vespa ET-4.
According to S. 322.03 (4), F.S., “A person may not operate a motorcycle unless he or she holds a driver’s license that authorizes such operation, subject to the appropriate restrictions and endorsements.”
In other words, you cannot legally operate a motorcycle on Florida’s roadways without a “Motorcycle Also” endorsement added to your regular driver license. Prior to obtaining the endorsement, you may operate your motorcycle without passengers with a temporary motorcycle permit if you are 21 years old or older. Your regular driver license will not serve as the permit. You must pass the motorcycle written test at any driver licenses office in order to obtain the temporary motorcycle permit. The permit is valid for 60 days, will be restricted to “No Passengers”, may be issued a maximum of five times and is to be carried with your regular license.
There are basically three ways for individuals holding a Florida driver license to obtain a motorcycle endorsement. These methods are as follows:
Highway rules (not found on the web site):
See also http://www.hsmv.state.fl.us/ddl/motorcyclefaqs.html