Indiana Moped Laws

Indiana Moped Laws

Moped Definition

A moped, or "Motorized bicycle," is a two (2) or three (3) wheeled vehicle, that is propelled by an internal combustion engine or a battery powered motor. If it is powered by a motor, the engine have less than two horsepower, a cyclinder capacity less than 50c.c., an automatic transmission, and a maximum speed less than 25mph on a flat surface. Electric mopeds are only required to travel less than 25mph on a flat surface.

Mini Choppers

Mini choppers are usually classfied as motorcycles because they may not meet all the requirements above to be classified as a moped. Since they are classified as motorcycles, they are required to have a license plate, proof of insurance, and the rider must have a motorcycle endorsement on his or her driver's license.

Moped Licensing Information

Moped operators must be atleast fifteen years old, and they must possess a Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) issued license or identifaction card. No motorcycle license is required to operate a moped.

Safety Information and Laws

Everyone under the age of 18 is required to wear a helmet and eye protection while riding on a moped. The protective headgear that is worn must meet the requirements set by the USDOT. The protective eyewear required can be a pair of protective glasses, goggles, or a transparent face shield. All operators under the age of 18 who ride on motorcycles must also wear a helmet and eye protection.

Mopeds cannot be operated on sidewalks or Interstate highways.

Anyone caught riding a motorcycle without the proper registration or equipment will be given a ticket and the motorcycle will be impounded until it is licensed and insured correctly. The fines for these violations will range between $112.00 to $132.00 dollars.

Mopeds are also required to abide by the following laws regarding the operation of vehicles on public land:

  • Brakes are required that are capable of producing deceleration at 14 feet per second on level ground at a speed of 20 miles per hour.
  • Vehicles cannot be used to hunt, kill, or pursue a wild bird or any wild or domestic animal
  • An individual shall not operate a vehicle 30 minutes after sunset to 30 minutes before sunrise without having a lighted headlight and taillight
  • An individual shall not operate a vehicle unless the vehicle has a muffler in good working condition and in continual operation to prevent excessive or unusual noise and annoying smoke.
  • A person who violates these statues commits a Class C Infraction or a Class B Misdemeanor.
  • Vehicle Registration

    If you are renewing a registration, you will pay an excise tax fee (perhaps a sur and wheel tax if applicable to your county) and a registration fee. You can renew a standard vehicle registration, along with many other transactions, at any license branch in the state of Indiana. All registrants are required to provide the name of their current insurance company and their corresponding policy number.

    If you have purchased a vehicle, State law requires Indiana residents to remit a 7% Indiana sales tax on vehicle purchases. Motorists who purchase a vehicle from an out-of-state dealer or from an individual must pay sales tax at the time of title application. Motorists must apply for a title within 31 days of purchase. Failure to do so will result in a late fee.

    If you are a new Indiana resident, you are required to have a certificate or origin, odometer statement, proof of insurance, and a verification of your Social Security number.

    External Resources
    Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles
    Indiana State Police FAQ
    Johnson County Sheriff's Office Moped Laws
    Lafayette police increases motorcycle enforcement

    Forums at Privacy policy Home My other sites

    Home   Contact
    Wikipedia Affiliate Button